Why read Early American literature?

Because you encounter a passage of such beauty, and wisdom, as this:

But now I see the Lord had His time to scourge and chasten me. The portion of some is to have their afflictions by drops, now one drop and then another; but the dregs of the cup, the wine of astonishment, like a sweeping rain that leaveth no food, did the Lord prepare to be my portion. Affliction I wanted, and affliction I had, full measure (I thought), pressed down and running over. Yet I see, when God calls a person to anything, and through never so many difficulties, yet He is fully able to carry them through and make them see, and say they have been gainers thereby. And I hope I can say in some measure, as David did, “It is good for me that I have been afflicted.” The Lord hath showed me the vanity of these outward things. That they are the vanity of vanities, and vexation of spirit, that they are but a shadow, a blast, a bubble, and things of no continuance.

Rowlandson, Mary. The Sovereignty and the Goodness of God (1682). Bedford Anthology of American Literature: Vol. One: Beginnings to 1865. Eds. Susan Belasco and Linck Johnson. Boston: Bedford, 2008. 190-228. Print.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

